Notice: Effective July 1, 2024, Vertical Forums will be officially shut down. As a result, all forum activity will be permanently removed. We understand that this news may come as a disappointment, but we would like to thank everyone for being a part of our community for so many years.

If you are interested in taking over this Forum, please contact us prior to July 1.

Big Thanks To The Military Crews

Last night I watched a program on the killing of that SOB Bin Laden. I have been flying helicopters for 40 years in the bush and never in the military. I just wanted to say to any military crews flying in harms way that I cannot begin to find the right words for all you do. It really hit home on this Bin Laden Mission for me. These crews went with no cover and no idea if they would be coming back. Where do they get this courage. Then I realized that this applies to all the military crews everywhere. I spent last summer checking out Air Museums and all the WW2 bombers. I realized how terrifying it was to climb into those thin skined not much of anything and do what they did. If you look at helicopter they are much the same. Thin skined slow not much of anything. On the Bin Laden mission they lost a helicopter. Well if I had been driving the bus I would have bushed it 5 feet after takeoff leaving on the mission. So thanks again to those military crews. Unbelievable is what you do. I am not sure what the Canadian Military is flying now and I hope they fund the **** of it. You deserve the best we can give you.

• Like 1

AND a big thanks to our politicians and bureaucrats for screwing both the soldiers and the taxpayers.

http://www.casr.ca/ft-selling-off-chinooks.htm