Notice: Effective July 1, 2024, Vertical Forums will be officially shut down. As a result, all forum activity will be permanently removed. We understand that this news may come as a disappointment, but we would like to thank everyone for being a part of our community for so many years.

If you are interested in taking over this Forum, please contact us prior to July 1.

Power-check How-to

Hi folks,

I'm studying the Astar POH and I'm having hard time understanding the power check charts.

It sez in Section 4 that once you have your parameters, to enter the chart first with Tq - Nr - Alt, and then from OAT to Ng. I don't have a problem with the bottom portion, but I'm a little confused about the top part. If i'm deducing this right, I go from my OAT a straight horizontal to intersect with Ng, then vertical to the diagonal separating the correct/incorrect regions of the chart, then back horizontal to intersect my vertical up from Alt. Is this correct?

Also, for the B2, it sez MCP = 98%.............................Delta Ng -3.5

Is 98% an absolute ? Is it the lesser of the two ? Greater of the two?

Another detail. The Intec filter STC states OAT must be increased by 4 degrees C in the BA POH for power check, but not in the B2 POH. Why is that?

Last Q: Anybody got "virgin" large format Astar power charts to share?

• Replies 23
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Dogger

Pick and altitude write it down 3000' say you can use any ALT.

Fly straight and level pull in 98% max Cont torque hold that .

Write down OAT

Write down T4

write down Nr

Depending on the filter deduct temperature as per instructions to correct for OAT

Plot'er on the chart. ( photocopy enlagre by 25%) make it easier if you forgot your reading glasses :shock: Just make sure you use the right chart as per the PFM.

Hope this help's

JW

LD

You are plotting it correctly. There is a computer program that works as well.