Notice: Effective July 1, 2024, Vertical Forums will be officially shut down. As a result, all forum activity will be permanently removed. We understand that this news may come as a disappointment, but we would like to thank everyone for being a part of our community for so many years.

If you are interested in taking over this Forum, please contact us prior to July 1.

How Old Were You When You Started Heli Training

Beats

Hi, I have had a deep interest in perhaps starting helicopter training for about 3 years now. I've been a subscriber to Vertical for about the same amount of time. I have never even been in a helicopter and the closest I've ever been to one is looking up at the sky whenever one flies by. Which isn't too often. I have zero experience in aviation and have only ever been in planes/jets on a couple of occasions. I have researched online looking at different schools etc. at various points over the last few years. Basically it's the money (or lack thereof) that keeps this as a dream and keeps me from making it a reality. Anyway, I have been spending the last bunch of years working construction and daydreaming all day about getting out and perhaps trying to put some money together (plus a loan) and start to really think about if this is the path I want to take. If I did, it would be a commercial license that I would be after. What I am curious about is what age some of you guys were when you entered helicopter flight training. It seems there are some ppl starting later in life and then I read about ppl in their teens getting into it. What would the average age person starting training be roughly? I'm 25 myself and the reason I was thinking of this was because I was wondering how if , say, 5 new pilots get hired out of 8 or so being trained at one time.. Other than skill, obviously, do employers prefer an age bracket to hire from when given a bunch of ppl with the same skill and low hours?? Essentially If most newly trained pilots who are hired in their