Notice: Effective July 1, 2024, Vertical Forums will be officially shut down. As a result, all forum activity will be permanently removed. We understand that this news may come as a disappointment, but we would like to thank everyone for being a part of our community for so many years.

If you are interested in taking over this Forum, please contact us prior to July 1.

Lights, Mediums, Or Heavy?

Kris

Hey Im a second year apprentice. I've been workin on light a/c since I started in this industry and im starting to get curiouse, whats it like when you move up to larger aircraft? I was told by some of the medium guys i work with that its alot more work but the pay is better, and what about heavy aicraft like a s92? which I have never seen up close yet. Does anyone have any experiance or stories they want to tell? what kind of machines do you prefer to work on? Im curiouse about pay scales as well. Do you make more working a base position on heavy choppers or out in the bush on lights?

• 2 months later...

My suggestion would be not to consider mediums or heavies until you've been licensed for at least 5 years. Better to cut your teeth and get your experience on lights/intermediates. It takes years to get good at troubleshooting and developing a good analytic mind. If your aircraft is grounded because you can't figure out how to fix it, it's better if it's a $1500/hr loss than a $3000/hr or higher loss.

By the time you make it to the mediums/heavies, you're more likely to have acquired the skills and experience to help you better cope with any maintenane issue.

My suggestion would be not to consider mediums or heavies until you've been licensed for at least 5 years. Better to cut your teeth and get your experience on lights/intermediates. It takes years to get good at troubleshooting and developing a good analytic mind.