Sticking It To The Man.

InspectorGadget

Hi there. As tax season is approaching I wanted to get some tips for write offs. After last year I talked to some friends in the biz and they mentioned a few things they filled out to get some big money back but I can't remember any of them.

I know as an apprentice I can, and have, claimed up to $1000 in tools each year, but are there any other easy ones out there?

Any help would be great and I'm sure all us pretengineers out there could use the extra couple bucks this year!

• Replies 30
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Also, you better realize that an AME is not in a recognized trade (IE you do not become a "journeyman mechanic"), and you are probably not eligable to write off any of your tools for tax purposes.

AME's are professionals, not tradesmen (no offence to tradespeople, but we just aren't).

RTR

Ugggg I knew someone would say that. I don't really care though, as most of the people I know have no problems claiming those things like tools and some apprentice loopholes. Also, my accountant didn't help me out last year in this department so this year I am doing some research of my own.

I really just needed some info from someone who has done it. Some form numbers or something.

And also, if anybody thinks that we are at all more skilled or better than tradespeople, thats a joke. And its been debated many times on this site.

Thanks anyways.

It's not a matter of "better", it's a matter of job description. You don't need a licence to change a part, you need a licence to certify the part and the installation.

For example, a highly skilled mechanic fixes your car for you. You pay him and you drive away. There was never a requirement for the mechanic to certify his work in order for you to drive away.