Notice: Effective July 1, 2024, Vertical Forums will be officially shut down. As a result, all forum activity will be permanently removed. We understand that this news may come as a disappointment, but we would like to thank everyone for being a part of our community for so many years.

If you are interested in taking over this Forum, please contact us prior to July 1.

Tips For A Rookie

So a question from a rookie (me) to all you experienced and knowledgable folks. What are your best tips/tricks/methods/stories for shooting confined areas. I guess I have no exact question. Just always find I learn more from others then going over the "S's" and procedure 13 million times. Good and bad stories would be greatly appreciated :D

I did 99% of my training sub 10 degrees....then when my flight test came around it was magically 30 out and self taught myself how to get a robbie airborne hot and heavy. So my last experience left me a little shaky I guess....but I did pass so wasn't too bad eh? Anyway....enough of my babbling. :wacko:

OK, I'll try my best.

Since you started out in the piston world, I'll continue on that thread :D .

I like to do a powe check first, before I commit myself (this will do for a 300CB, the numbers need to be modified for your craft of choice!!).

I'll fly 500 feet above the confined area (pinnacle/ridge), then slow to a hover (into wind of course!) without descending. If I can hover OGE then I will be able to hover semi-IGE at my confined area.

Alternately, I can do a power check. In the R-22 and the 300C there is a chart, that specifies the max allowable MP you may use at any time (in the '-22 there's also that 5 minute rating for a little extre puff!). Fly over your spot at about 500' AGL, at the speed for best rate of climb, then pull collective to max allowable (if you can reach it) The difference of what the MP read at best rate of climb, and the max is your available power.

If you have less than 1", be careful! (cushion t/o required)