Notice: Effective July 1, 2024, Vertical Forums will be officially shut down. As a result, all forum activity will be permanently removed. We understand that this news may come as a disappointment, but we would like to thank everyone for being a part of our community for so many years.

If you are interested in taking over this Forum, please contact us prior to July 1.

Film/movie Flying

So I've been flying down in Haiti for just over 6 months now, and a lot of my flights seem to involve News crews or documentary filming, things like that. I've never done this type of work before but I'm finding I really like it. it's very challenging, - max gross, very high OAT, High DA, spend all day inside the curve, usually with a tailwind over very developed/ congested city areas. Stressful. but working the machine so the camera man can "get the shot" is a lot of fun and really keeps me on my toes. I get to work with really interesting people from all over the world. CNN, NBC, etc... just finished a flight with Ross Kemp from the BBC.

are there companies in western Canada that do much of this? I'm planning to return home soon and would like to find a place where I could continue this type of work. they all seem to be very pleased so guess I'm getting a feel for it...

thoughts ?

I got to do a little bit of that in the Global 1 newscopter over Calgary in the spring of 2009. Sounds like you're faced with a lot more challenges than I was, though!

I was second-in-command, but I was in the right seat, so I got to do pretty much all of the flying.

We were always 500 to 1000 feet off the ground and out of the way of CYYC traffic, but we did have to keep an eye out for the competition's R22 that was usually circling the same traffic snarl that we were. The DA wasn't that bad (not as hot or humid as your environment) but we did lift off with full tanks, three people, the big gimballed camera on the nose and all the news/radio gear so we were pretty heavy.