Notice: Effective July 1, 2024, Vertical Forums will be officially shut down. As a result, all forum activity will be permanently removed. We understand that this news may come as a disappointment, but we would like to thank everyone for being a part of our community for so many years.

If you are interested in taking over this Forum, please contact us prior to July 1.

I Phone Apps

b206

For quick and dirty flying reference, I like these...

AeroWeather (free)

TC AIM (free)

iE6B (free)

iBal (paid for that one)

Daylight (sunrise/sunset and civil twilight times - also free)

Besides being a rookie pilot I'm also an old avalanche technician, so I saved a couple other weather links as App icons. I have a direct link to the GFA, and I also have one for the current western Canada IR satellite image and one for the radar imagery out of Vernon, BC.

I have a Canada topo map app that was free and is excellent - I only wish it would let me zoom in.

I also downloaded GoodReader Lite, which is a PDF reader. I have a couple flight manuals in PDF form, so I use this app to read the manuals on my phone. It's a bit clunky, but it was free. Also saved VerticalMag as an App icon :)

That's all I have that relates to weather and/or flying.

Hope this helps!

- Darren

Foreflight is awesome but it's a paid subscription, I used it in the summer months daily. I let the subscription lapse for the winter. It has an excellent map/weather overlay I think there is a free trial for first download.

Aeroweather is great as well, I paid for the full app as I use this daily. It provides sun up/down times as well.

Logten Pro - excellent logbook app. It's all I use now and worth every cent. Logs duty, expenses, and completely customizable.

Those are the most used on my phone.

Question about Goodreader....I'm a recent convert from a blackberry to iphone 4. (on monday). What does goodreader do? As near as I can tell the iphone handles pdf's. Am I mmissing out on something good?