Notice: Effective July 1, 2024, Vertical Forums will be officially shut down. As a result, all forum activity will be permanently removed. We understand that this news may come as a disappointment, but we would like to thank everyone for being a part of our community for so many years.

If you are interested in taking over this Forum, please contact us prior to July 1.

Ec130

Roo

Hi All,

Looking for some feedback from anyone who has heliskied in a 130?

I have ran the numbers and it appears to be better than the 407 once you hit some altitude and when the temp climbs. I have never flown a fenestron ship and the fact that you sit on the left side may take some getting use to as a ski pilot (site picture).

An feedback would be appreciated.

I'm no expert, in fact, not even a heli pilot, and this may be 2nd maybe even 3rd hand, but someone mentioned to me that the 130 had some flexing issues with its wide composite fuselage when sitting on un-even landing sites, and corresponding door latching issues.

S

The 130 has a 3 point landing gear and it does move underneath. I don't know about the body flexing, never heard about that. Did see some door latching damage caused by misusing the door. If they are rigged right and used properly, shouldn't pose any difficulty.

knowing what I know, and according to some it's sweet F-all, yet I'm not convinced heli skiing in a 130, landing in deep soft powder is going to flex the floor all that much. Its like flopping your fat girlfriend onto the water bed. She probably likes that better than bending her over the lazy boy with one thundering thigh over your shoulder.

That being said, the floor frame is basically the same as the 350B3, although widened, and appropriately re-enforced. I highly doubt the flexing, if noticeable, is causing any problems.

For those that fly the 130, and land on uneven ground, do you notice gaps around the doors? that would be a realtime check to know if your floor is flexing.