Notice: Effective July 1, 2024, Vertical Forums will be officially shut down. As a result, all forum activity will be permanently removed. We understand that this news may come as a disappointment, but we would like to thank everyone for being a part of our community for so many years.

If you are interested in taking over this Forum, please contact us prior to July 1.

Comeptitive Pay

I have been working overseas for about 5 years and have lost touch with what salaries are like in Canada. Many of the posts offering employment use the term "competitive wages".

If any folks are willing to share, I am curious as to where the salaries are these days and what is competitive. Probably not far off what they were 5 years ago, but one never knows unless they ask.

G

I have been working overseas for about 5 years and have lost touch with what salaries are like in Canada. Many of the posts offering employment use the term "competitive wages".

If any folks are willing to share, I am curious as to where the salaries are these days and what is competitive. Probably not far off what they were 5 years ago, but one never knows unless they ask.

G

Glad you ask!

Its a little more complicated than that.

First, be weary of offers for full time wages..."leading to full time position" also be weary of the term "seasonal" and " Contract" these little word games are used to bait you into paying a crap all year round wage say 3500-4000 per month and a low hourly rate say 50-75 per flight hour. You will be riding high thinking this will happen all year round and not a bad deal.. The real surprise comes when you are layed off in Sept-Oct and sent packing with ie at $1600.00 per month.