Notice: Effective July 1, 2024, Vertical Forums will be officially shut down. As a result, all forum activity will be permanently removed. We understand that this news may come as a disappointment, but we would like to thank everyone for being a part of our community for so many years.

If you are interested in taking over this Forum, please contact us prior to July 1.

Canada Ifr

I was wondering about IFR helicopter flying in Canada, I've been flying mostly aerial work for a few years and am thinking of a change. Could use some advice on how to break in to this type of R/W flying and also some good places to train. The only place I know of is "Pro IFR" Boundry Bay, there must be others. Any comments from the people in the know would be greatly appreciated. My first visit to this fourm spent hrs reading here I'll be a regular for sure.

From what I hear Pro IFR is a really great place to get your IFR rating. I guess they do some of the time in a Cessna so the cost gets cut down some. For what it's worth the school I'm attending does IFR ratings too. I'll PM you the goods on it. Good luck and welcome aboard! :up:

I mostly live at work, AB. BC. but other times in Ont. would be interested in any schools in Canada maybe the east coast there's lots of IFR stuff out there surely there must be a training outfit . If any of you guys are into this stuff some stories about how you got your start and what you think the best route to take would be great, I dont know anyone who does R/W IFR.

Cheers

IFR in Canada- you are either talking Helijet, Cougar, CHC Global or Canadian. Call them and ask whom they may recommend.

They have to train and PPC folks on 212 or 76 from basic IFR so would be able to give some good direction.

cheers

Sharkbait

PM with your phone number if you want further - I will call if in I am in Canada. Least I can do to help low timers- lot of guys helped me. :rolleyes: