Notice: Effective July 1, 2024, Vertical Forums will be officially shut down. As a result, all forum activity will be permanently removed. We understand that this news may come as a disappointment, but we would like to thank everyone for being a part of our community for so many years.

If you are interested in taking over this Forum, please contact us prior to July 1.

Tax Time

As a pilot I write off, medicals, books , ECGs, training, eyeglasses, I heard even if you only get $40 per diem, you can write off up to $80, I am full time at a company, but have been contract and have written off a portion of the truck, insurance , gas, office. What else can we write off that you know of??

I don't know where you're from either as cross borders everything is different.

Some of the things you claim, I applaud you if you're getting them. Don't forget the tax man is sometimes slow grabbing back into your pocket, so don't get too cosy if you claimed any of those things the last few years, they may eventually realise it.

Basically if you're reimbursed for anything, you won't be able to make a claim. I'm thinking benefits plans here including all your medical items.

If you're paying out of pocket, I feel you have a right to claim back those items.

Here's a general list procured from a tax site:

Other Employment Expenses

The Canadian income tax act allows a number of other expenses to be deducted from employment income:

Professional membership dues such as law society, doctors associations, engineers, or accounting associations.

Office rent or the salary (including EI and CPP premiums) of a substitute if you were required to pay these costs yourself by your employer.

Supplies used directly in your employment but excluding uniforms and books.

Union or association dues.

Legal expenses paid to collect salary or wages. The fees may be paid to establish a right to salary and wages in addition to collecting the amounts owed.