Notice: Effective July 1, 2024, Vertical Forums will be officially shut down. As a result, all forum activity will be permanently removed. We understand that this news may come as a disappointment, but we would like to thank everyone for being a part of our community for so many years.

If you are interested in taking over this Forum, please contact us prior to July 1.

Contractor Insurance?

I'd like to throw out a question about insurance for contract Pilots/Engineers.

Operators are required by law and by our customers to have a certain amount of liability insurance coverage.

Is there any company's requiring that contractors have their own liability insurance? Do any of you contractors carry insurance?

I'm asking out of curiosity and I'm referring to true contractors who bill through their own company not short term / seasonal employees.

I realize I might be opening a can of worms here, but I think it might be a good discussion.

Sean

I've been contracting for almost ten years. I've never carried my own liability insurance.

I always ask and get some kind of assurance that I am listed on a companies insurance policy.

I think the can of worms would be if insurers started coming after individual pilots for damages.

You think it's hard to get good pilots now just see what happens if a company is known for hanging you out to dry!!

Gross negligence is another story though, you could be on your own.