Notice: Effective July 1, 2024, Vertical Forums will be officially shut down. As a result, all forum activity will be permanently removed. We understand that this news may come as a disappointment, but we would like to thank everyone for being a part of our community for so many years.

If you are interested in taking over this Forum, please contact us prior to July 1.

Change From Vfr To Ifr Offshore

Hello,

I'm a 40 year old pilot, working in the Canadian VFR helicopter industry since 2006.

I've been thinking recently about changing over to the IFR side of things and trying to find work in the offshore industry. Heard that this has a good chance of increasing my income (in the long run, once I get to be captain) and also give more time with family as the rotations are typically 4x4 or 6x6.

Was hoping to get comments, suggestions, feedback recommendations etc about this.

- Is this something offshore/IFR pilots would recommend I do?

- Is a Canadian IFR sufficient, or should I get both FAA IFR and Canadian IFR to double my employment options?

- If both IFR licenses are preferable, is it cheaper to get an FAA IFR and then convert it to a Canadian IFR, or does it not matter which one I get first?

- Once I get IFR license and write the ATPL, what are my chances of finding offshore work? If not very likely, what are my chances of finding Medevac work?

- How long does one need to be a 1st officer before being able to be promoted to captain?

- Is it futile to try since I don't have any multi engine time?

- Which companies offer offshore work opportunities?

- Which websites are best to look for offshore work?

Many thanks to your feedback.

I would also be interested in any feedback offered to offshore2.

A friend of mine went this way last year from Canadian/Australian VFR work. He has both FAA and TC licences and now earns $100k tax free.