Notice: Effective July 1, 2024, Vertical Forums will be officially shut down. As a result, all forum activity will be permanently removed. We understand that this news may come as a disappointment, but we would like to thank everyone for being a part of our community for so many years.

If you are interested in taking over this Forum, please contact us prior to July 1.

Getting Started As A Pilot

jas600

Hey guys, so I've been thinking about switching careers and becoming a heli pilot for a couple years now and I had an option offered to me recently.... A relative runs a spraying company and he offered his fleet for me to learn. And so I presume that I would do ground school at a flight school and then log most of my flying time on his choppers. So I'm wondering if this would be a good idea for me to get my license this way or not. Once I get licensed I'd be flying for him anyway.....

Any thoughts would be appreciated

Honestly, not being an instructor I'm not sure how it works. But I can imagine as long as they are a licensed instructor (or training pilot, not sure though hopefully someone will correct me) they can teach you. I imagine there is some kind of ciriculum that has to be followed on what you are taught. Again hope someone will correct me but I don't believe you can be taught sitting in a machine while it's doing commercial work, ie spraying

Hope it all works out though!

You need to get your training from an instructor, so check around for a school that has an instructor who can training on the type of machine that you'll be bringing. No doubt the spray booms will have to come off for training.

Good luck!

DM