Notice: Effective July 1, 2024, Vertical Forums will be officially shut down. As a result, all forum activity will be permanently removed. We understand that this news may come as a disappointment, but we would like to thank everyone for being a part of our community for so many years.

If you are interested in taking over this Forum, please contact us prior to July 1.

Safety Companies, Insurers And The Low-Time Pilot

I've been flying for a few years now and every year it seems that CPs/Ops Managers have to learn a new set of rules that dictate if they can fly new guys, in what capacity and to what end (and what qualifies as low-time). This is on top of waiting to hear what contracts are new, old, changing or disappearing.

I've heard varying opinions as to who ultimately makes or breaks a low-timer's entry into (and progressin through) the business (other than, obviously, the low-timer themself). Lately I've been hearing a fair bit of talk about 750 hours for camp jobs that used to be prime for 200 hour guys, 500 not meaning as much as it used to and so on.

What's the collective wisdom? Who's REALLY making the rules? Is it a collaboration? Are safety consultants making recommendations or requirements? The role of the insurers seems fairly straight forward.

The way things seem to be heading there are eventually gonna be nothing but a bunch of low-time guys trying to inch their way to 1,000 hours by flying nothing but mtce ferries and check rides.

How are things? How should they be? How are they gonna be in the future?

• Like 2

I have found that it's usually a "consultant" advising someone in the customer's company that used to have 50 hours on fast jets in the military. If we found a good guy our workaround was to persuade the customer to go up for a quick flight with him. It's funny how the minimum experience for simple jobs goes up year by year, as you noticed. And to think I was let loose with missiles at 200 hours......