Notice: Effective July 1, 2024, Vertical Forums will be officially shut down. As a result, all forum activity will be permanently removed. We understand that this news may come as a disappointment, but we would like to thank everyone for being a part of our community for so many years.

If you are interested in taking over this Forum, please contact us prior to July 1.

Are There Any Apprentices Here Who Are Getting Their Experience From The Military?

bandoliers06

I graduated from BCIT last summer, and I still can't find a job with helicopters. I'm starting to think that companies only want guys with some helicopter experience already, I don't even have a month started yet. My family and friends are telling me I should apply as an Aerospace Engineering Officer. I looked at the webpage and I chatted with someone whos currently in the military in person. He mentioned that if you start from the bottom you will have better respect along the way than if you were to just go in for the job already with an AME license. Seems like some words from the wise, but it wasn't really what I was looking for before I jump into this so thats why I'm asking here, whats it like for the wrench monkeys in the military?

• Like 2

I'm starting to think that companies only want guys with some helicopter experience already,

Not true. I know of a couple of apprentices hired last year right out of school. It's just slow right now. Some of the jobs may not be close to home though. You may have to go where the work is.

The jobs postings should start ramping up shortly for the season.