Notice: Effective July 1, 2024, Vertical Forums will be officially shut down. As a result, all forum activity will be permanently removed. We understand that this news may come as a disappointment, but we would like to thank everyone for being a part of our community for so many years.

If you are interested in taking over this Forum, please contact us prior to July 1.

Aviation Medical And Transport Canada Licence Fees On Taxes?

I am a Canadian Commercial Helicopter Pilot. It is tax time again. Has anyone any advice as to where one might be able to claim our annual/biannual aviation medical exam cost and Transport Canada 55.00 License Fee? Seems to me it would fall under 'employment expenses' or perhaps 'professional fees'?? I have had some pilots say they claim it here but nobody seems to really be able to provide the appropriate literature that makes it legitimate. Any thoughts?

• Like 2

As far as the medical is concerned, you could make a case for it to fall under 'medical expenses' for taxes, but you need equivalent to 3% (if memory serves) of your income in total medical expenses to be able to claim any of them.

As for the license fee, if you fly as a contract pilot you might be wise to incorporate yourself, then you can write down just about everything as a business expense, also 'pay' yourself less which leads to lower personal income tax as well as lower % on business income than you would pay as an individual for your paycheque. Under an incorporation you could also write off your medicals.

I'm not flying enough to justify incorporating myself yet so I'm going based on the conversations I've had over the years rather than personal experience.

More tax (and relationship) advice is available in exchange for low-time openings.