Hearing Loss In Helicopter Pilots.

Maybe I have lead a sheltered life, but if somebody had told me that there was something to be done about my wife's complaining, I would have done it years ago. So, at the risk of telling everyone what they already know, I offer the following testimonial.

For years I endured my wife harassing me - as I discreetly pushed the "volume up" from the steering wheel, she would immediately reach out and turn down the car radio! I set the TV volume, at a quite reasonable level, she would complain that it's too loud (she complained because, unlike the car, I control the TV remote and she would have to cross the room, to override my decision); and in various other circumstances she would tell everyone, within hearing and beyond, that I was most certainly deaf!

In my defense, I pointed out to that, as a pilot, I had my hearing checked regularly by a Transport Canada medical examiner. Nonetheless, I finally agreed to have my hearing tested by an licensed audiologist. The audiogram proved my wife was wrong! For the most part.

While the audiogram confirmed I could hear OK, well within the medical standard for pilots, it also explained why I had so much trouble understanding some of what I heard. I have mild, high frequency, hearing loss, which impairs my understanding of certain syllables. So, I miss a word here and there and while I'm searching for the word I missed, I loose a few more. Hence I often ask people to repeat themselves, especially in a crowd. Not a problem with ATC instructions, they are rather predictable and generally not in competition with other voices.