Notice: Effective July 1, 2024, Vertical Forums will be officially shut down. As a result, all forum activity will be permanently removed. We understand that this news may come as a disappointment, but we would like to thank everyone for being a part of our community for so many years.

If you are interested in taking over this Forum, please contact us prior to July 1.

Contract Guys

Chachi

Hey all

New to the forum. I've been wrenching for about five years now and I'm starting to toss around going contract. I was just wondering if anyone has any good advice on the subject, tax info, insurance, WCB, rates, that sort of thing.

Any help would be much appreciated

If you're thinking of going contract because you think you'll make more money, then forget about it. When you factor all aspects of helicopter maintenance between full time employment and contract, you'll find that you'll probably end up making between 65 to 100k either way. This of course will depend on the company and also the season. Some contract guys make a lot of money but they do so by working their arses off with little time off throughout the year. Don't let high daily or hourly rates convince you that contract is more lucrative. High daily or hourly rates also mean zero income when you're not working. The only thing that really matters in terms of money is what your year end T4 says and that will be pretty similar between contract and full time employemt.

I've worked both contract and full time and found them to be about the same in terms of money. Contract offers you more freedom and full time offers you more stability.

Been there done that, won't do it again.