Notice: Effective July 1, 2024, Vertical Forums will be officially shut down. As a result, all forum activity will be permanently removed. We understand that this news may come as a disappointment, but we would like to thank everyone for being a part of our community for so many years.

If you are interested in taking over this Forum, please contact us prior to July 1.

Thoughts from the HEMS world

Hello everyone....So I'm a newly minted helicopter mechanic over at Minuteman Aviation in Missoula Montana, I've been there just about five months now.  I could not be more excited to be a part of the rotorcraft community!  So during my quest for my A&P License I have and still am considering the HEMS world as my eventual career choice.  I do realize it takes a few years of experience to qualify for an aircraft mechanic job in that field but I'm thinking it will be a good rewarding path to shoot for.  I am curious however, and this is directed at anyone on here who has been involved or is currently involved in the HEMS world....I would like complete honesty, what are your experiences.....pros vs. cons, etc???  So far I have heard from two opposite ends of the spectrum...everything from the "worst maintained aircraft out there"  to the "best job I ever had."  Again I would like complete honesty from everyone but please keep it civil.  I'm just curious to hear from the actual folks on the front line if you will because I do realize this area of aviation can be a bit controversial.

Thank you everyone!

Cheers!

well, you being the mechanic pretty much determines whether you have the best or worst maintained aircraft out there

as for being the best place to work (or worst) thats subjective depending on what you want out of it.

bottom line is the question you pose is so broad, no one could fairly comment on a whole segment of the industry unless they have worked for every single one of them.

17 hours ago, CAstrike said: