Bell 206b

Hello there,

While keeping a shop open and harrassing companies around here, I'm studying the 206 flight manuel and here's a question :

Give me 2 reasons why you can't use the 100% torque for 5mn to save time on your ETA ?

I know it's a 'take-off' setting and the maxi continuous is 85% but any other reason ?

I'm also looking for diagrams about the fuel system and the hydraulic

that's all for now :up:

happy landings

• Replies 48
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

not an engineer, but i beleive it has to do with mast bending under high torque and high airspeed

any clarifications out there ??

another reason is the amount of fuel required for that extra couple of knots is not worth it

don't forget, that helicopter is strapped to your a*s, treat it kindly :shock:

strapped to my a** ??? I don't use the seat belt that way :rolleyes: and I'm not only kind, I'm tender :D

Speaking about fuel, I don't have a chart 'fuel vs torque ' in my manuel...did I forget something in the copy machine ?

What do you guys use for inflight calculation ? pnd/mn, gal/mn...? is the torque important ?

####, I see your point but my questions are just theoricals. I just don't like the way flight manuels are writing : I'm still a 10 years old boy always asking "why?". And for me it's always easier to remenber something if I know the reason. Amazing the things I learned from accidents reports : this kind of explainations are perfect for me.

Reason number one: your maintenance staff would beat the crap out of you once they found out you were flying the A/C like an idiot.

Reason number two: This is going to sound real mean, but if you have to ask that kind of question, maybe you should stay away from helicopters altogether!

Reason number one: your maintenance staff would beat the crap out of you once they found out you were flying the A/C like an idiot.