I scared the cr#p out of myself when

I was working in the winter in northern BC. I had plenty of local knowledge of the area as I was a base manager for a few yrs.

Coming back to the base after doing a job for a week out of town there was an inversion.  I was up in the clean sky with a OAT of +5 I am flying along fat dumb and happy.  I got close to town and saw the fog laying in the valley. Looks like I need to use my favorite creek to get down to the base which is about 400' lower than I am currently at.

Being alone I didn't notice the torque climbing. Had my head in the longline window as I worked my way down the creek. Very happy with myself as I land on the pad. Roll the Jetranger back to idle for the 2 minute cool down..... I notice the OAT is now -11 .... that is when all **** broke out and the machine was shaking like I was driving on a gravel road at a high speed and hit wash board I could hardly read the gauges.

I roll the throttle off and pull pitch to slow everything down and stop the machine from bouncing off the pad.

I get out and see all the ice had shed off of only one T/R blade. ( Insert foul words here.... I said many that day)

Into the hanger she went and turned up the heat to de-ice the machine.... first and last time I ever saw it rain indoors. 

I was so scare and so mad at myself that day for doing something this stupid. I was so fortunate I was on the ground when this happened. 

Local knowledge is a good thing MOST days.

So you low timers.... when you are bored of hearing about icing.... keep listening as it is very real.

• Like 4