Notice: Effective July 1, 2024, Vertical Forums will be officially shut down. As a result, all forum activity will be permanently removed. We understand that this news may come as a disappointment, but we would like to thank everyone for being a part of our community for so many years.

If you are interested in taking over this Forum, please contact us prior to July 1.

Vfr Requirements During Heliski?

ws2000

I'm a fixed wing pilot who's finally fulfilling the dream @ Wiegele's this winter... was curious about wx and such.

Basically curious what sort of VFR limits they'll follow. As I recall from ground school, I think heli VFR limits are lower than fixed wing?

Would Wiegele have an IFR approach to get in or out of the soup @ their base?

Like every other paying customer, I want the most vert possible, and figured who else would know better than the guy(or girl) driving the bird? :)

Helicopter VFR = 1/2 mile ... straight and simple.

IFR ? ? I follow road / rail / river / racoon, whatever it takes !

You'll find the aircraft VFR only, It's all about the weight ! the only navaid onboard will probably be one GPS, plus Weiggle would never allow fuel to destination, hence to alternate, plus 45 (or whatever it is that those big scary planks run with ?) :D

407 D is correct, One cannot fly into B.R. IFR. If it is nice they can come up the valley VFR.

As for the helicopters, I flew there last season and it's 1/2 mile as previousely stated. There is a lead pilot who makes the call in the morning as to whether we all " launch" Very nice organised way to do things. You will have a blast! :up:

worked there as an engineer a number years ago.

thats the way i saw it too. if the weather was marginal. the lead guy would make a flight up and down the valley. there are also a number of landing points to hold up and radio contact with the base as well for weather that may be coming in.

I had a great time there. all got along great.

Cool! Thanks for the info!