Notice: Effective July 1, 2024, Vertical Forums will be officially shut down. As a result, all forum activity will be permanently removed. We understand that this news may come as a disappointment, but we would like to thank everyone for being a part of our community for so many years.

If you are interested in taking over this Forum, please contact us prior to July 1.

Coffee Breaks - Paid Or Unpaid ?

tooladdict

Just a quick question. Are people's 15 min coffee breaks paid or unpaid? That applies to both full time and contract. Hangar work only of course. Most companies expect us to stay longer than a regular 8 hour day to get the machine out the door on time, but when it comes to those 15 mins some companies are being a little cheap. Am I being cheap myself? For me it's a matter of principle. What do you guys think?

• Replies 21
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

I guess it depends on where you work. Are you in Canada?

I used to be an AUTO mechanic here in Texas, the labor laws require employers to give someone a 30 minute break per so many hours worked. This is often broken down to 15 in the A.M., and 15 in the P.M..

Are you being cheap? I guess that depends on how you feel about your job, and the company that you work for. I have worked for a few companies that I would have worked all night to help get a car out the door. Actually, I always enjoyed working late, and it seemed like I was able to get more done that way. Everyone was gone, no interuptions, just the radio and the airtools.

I'm pretty sure 30 min lunch breaks are on your own time but the 2 15 min. coffee breaks are paid for by the company, and are supposed to be every 2 hours or so. If your not getting them, I suggest leaving early to make up for it or just take them when you get a chance. If your working late to get a machine out, just bill for OT.

Coffee and Meal Breaks