Notice: Effective July 1, 2024, Vertical Forums will be officially shut down. As a result, all forum activity will be permanently removed. We understand that this news may come as a disappointment, but we would like to thank everyone for being a part of our community for so many years.

If you are interested in taking over this Forum, please contact us prior to July 1.

Why Kites...

• Replies 36
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

OK so I''m bored...

I bought a kite the other day at Canadian tire, an inexpensive one for Canada day, so here is the technical question:

Why in the name of something, does the kite accelerate when there is a gust of wind?

I am an instructor and I guess I should know, but it is still mind boggling.

We fed the line out a afir bit, got the kite airborne, and she would lag downwind a little, but as soon as the wind picked up, the kite seemed to accelerate to a more vertical position. Does anyone on this forum of the knowledged people have any ideas?

I''d be happy for any cool conclusions.

Oh, the reason for being bored, is that we are waiting for RDM to come visit again, so that he can administer another one of those test to one of my students.

First off............Winnie, I agree with 407 get of the glue man, sheesh find a hobby, oops that''s right ya got one "flying kites"

Thumper.............bite me, shouldn''t you be being helpful to the Capt like by getting coffee or something and and about the car, remeber size dosen''t matter

Hey 407...........one of your Alpine brethren is here in Sin city gettin married, a bunch of us were out last night with him for his "last night out" party, wasn''t a pretty picture

Hi Winnie

I am an instructor and I guess I should know, but it is still mind boggling.

UNQUOTE

I agree with you. You should know !!!