Startup With Stop Rotor

C-FXFX

• Replies 24
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

That's a good question. I would like to hear a good answer too.

I've seen a 212 started with the rotor brake on when the winds were strong and gusting. The brake was released about half way thru the start to help reduce blade sailing. It seemed to work. I know it's not a normal procedure but it may be done in the field I'm quessing. Maybe a question to send to Bell.

Starting up with the rotors stopped......now there is a novel idea. I've been doing that exact procedure for over 35 years and it works every time, at least on the Bell 47, Bell 206, Bell 212, Bell 412, MD500, R22, A109S, EC130B4 & AW139.

I'm not too sure about other helicopters but I believe you can start them with the rotors stopped also.

ZAP ZAP

Starting up with the rotors stopped......now there is a novel idea. I've been doing that exact procedure for over 35 years and it works every time, at least on the Bell 47, Bell 206, Bell 212, Bell 412, MD500, R22, A109S, EC130B4 & AW139.

I'm not too sure about other helicopters but I believe you can start them with the rotors stopped also.

ZAP ZAP

Ok!so how do you do that with a 47!

Oh! and by the way i know that is not a new idea...!!