Notice: Effective July 1, 2024, Vertical Forums will be officially shut down. As a result, all forum activity will be permanently removed. We understand that this news may come as a disappointment, but we would like to thank everyone for being a part of our community for so many years.

If you are interested in taking over this Forum, please contact us prior to July 1.

Canada Vrs. Us Training

TJ Bear

Hi, Im a newbie that has been reading for a while but this is my first post, so here goes.

I am researching flight schools at this point, which I find amazingly complex when you consider all angles, but..... One angle I'd like a few opinions on is the pros and cons of training in Canada vrs. the U.S.

I live in Oregon so it's not too far to the Vancouver area for me but there are some good (in my opinion) schools here too.

The biggest positive I see would be to get a more experienced instructor, but how difficult is it to transfer my ratings to U.S.? etc.

Throw it at me. I know there will be varying opinions maybe depending on which side of the line you happen to be batting for but I want to hear them all.

Welcome TJB......yes, you will get a variety of answers here, but I will give you the same advice I give everyone. Visit each school personally and ***** each one. Meet with the owners, instructors (how experienced), students and maintenance staff. Look at the facilities, location, school teaching aids and how the ground school is run. Do the aircraft look good (well maintained)? Does the school project a professional image?. How do they want to be paid?

Remember it's "your" money, when you go out the door after visiting each school, did you get a "good" feeling or was there a touch of uncertainty?

You are right, there are good schools on both sides, but I will say, that you will find the instructors north of the border a bit more experienced , with a lot of them actually working within the industry as commercial pilots along with instructing.