Notice: Effective July 1, 2024, Vertical Forums will be officially shut down. As a result, all forum activity will be permanently removed. We understand that this news may come as a disappointment, but we would like to thank everyone for being a part of our community for so many years.

If you are interested in taking over this Forum, please contact us prior to July 1.

Learned Something That Day

Flew into Andrews-Murphy NC (KRPH) last week after scenic flight in the smoky mountians. I parked my R22 at the fuel pumps to have it refueled . I walked into the FBO and was greeted warmly a young lineman. I informed him that I needed fuel and that I wanted to main tank topped off and three gallons in the auxiliary tank. He responeded "I am new to this so can you show me which tank is the main tank and which one is the auxiliary tank." I took him out and showed him which was which and left the rest to him while I went back inside to empty my bladder and take a break after the three hours of flying. I stood inside the FBO and watched him refuel while I chatted with a high-time Learjet pilot for quite a while. Somewhere during our conversation the Learjet pilot asked "I the heli turbine powered?" "Surely No. Why did you ask?" I asked curiously noting just how much time had past since the lineman first started the refueling. A scary look came upon his face and he said pointing to the lineman "He is messing you up buddy. That fuel truck he is using is a Jet A truck." A huge lump came up in my throat. :shock: I could not say a word. My first reaction was to dart out where he was and stop him. "What in the world are you pumping into this puppy?" I stuttered. "Nothing as of yet" he sighed. "Need to find a funnel to pump this stuff into this unusally small hole on your fuel tank." "100 LOW LEAD AVGAS IS WHAT THIS HELICOPTER USES. READ THE PLACARDS PLEASE" I was so relieved that he had not acually pumped anything into my heli, but still could not resolve the fact he was looking fo