Puma Supply Pick Up Off Destroyer

Someone really needs to teach the Military to Long Line.... :blink:

AR

It never fails to amaze me how when you give some people a specific skill they think that it is the "be all an end all" to every situation. Longlining is not the answer to everything. In this case it would be the wrong answer.

Looking vertically down at a boat / raft that is pitching, rolling, yawing and heaving all at the same time, not to mention the wave action and the rotor wash effect, through a bubble door would be an invitation to disaster. That is why the pro's, the SAR people, get as low as they safely can over the vessel and have the Hoist Operator gives him lateral direction from the open door. This also works for slinging cargo off vessels.

Before you go off half cocked, I have over two thousand hours longlining. Additionally I have lots of hoisting experience and have some slinging experience from vessels.

It never fails to amaze me how when you give some people a specific skill they think that it is the "be all an end all" to every situation. Longlining is not the answer to everything. In this case it would be the wrong answer.

Looking vertically down at a boat / raft that is pitching, rolling, yawing and heaving all at the same time, not to mention the wave action and the rotor wash effect, through a bubble door would be an invitation to disaster. That is why the pro's, the SAR people, get as low as they safely can over the vessel and have the Hoist Operator gives him lateral direction from the open door. This also works for slinging cargo off vessels.

Before you go off half cocked, I have over two thousand hours longlining. Additionally I have lots of hoisting experience and have some slinging experience from vessels.

WHOA THERE BIG SHOOTER...... :shock: