Notice: Effective July 1, 2024, Vertical Forums will be officially shut down. As a result, all forum activity will be permanently removed. We understand that this news may come as a disappointment, but we would like to thank everyone for being a part of our community for so many years.

If you are interested in taking over this Forum, please contact us prior to July 1.

B3 Drivers?

I may have the chance to fly a AS 350B3 in the first half of next year.

Warm country. ISA+20 - 30, High? 4-6000 ft.

What is the aircraft like? Do I want to this? 5000+TT 95% turbine. flown that high and in the jungle before. Also a bunch of time on an Allouette II so blades going the 'wrong'way are OK.

If you are riding one now, what do you think of it and what, if anything, should I be on the lookout for?

Thanks

:)

• Replies 21
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

i have been driving one for over 4 years, 1 of the first two in canada. bugs are all gone now, had trouble with the start switch at first. you will like it very much. the fedec sytem and the FLI ( only have one neddle to watch) is very pilot friendly and adds to the ease of flying. 850 shp so lots of power. our aircraft has lots of add on for the type of work we do, but it is still able to sling com shells 1300 lbs up to the local hills, around 6300 ft and be able set them while staying in the green. have spoke with a couple guys that worked them in south america and they also speak very highly about how they perform.

the computer sys also has a load page, it knows temp, p alt, fuel on board and you plug in load and it will tell you if you can hover ige or oge with the load at the height.

not sure if they have that mod on the 407 yet!!!

sorry 407, i know your works well also.

have a great night and best of luck getting the new ride.

1,300 lbs to 6,300 feet, Oh, I only can dream of loads and altitudes like that ...... :D:D:D my customers give me MUCH more :D:D:D