Notice: Effective July 1, 2024, Vertical Forums will be officially shut down. As a result, all forum activity will be permanently removed. We understand that this news may come as a disappointment, but we would like to thank everyone for being a part of our community for so many years.

If you are interested in taking over this Forum, please contact us prior to July 1.

Enstrom 480b

helofixer

Greetings from the bayous of Louisiana from a newbie to this forum. Recently a local police department here took delivery of a brand new Enstrom 480B (RR 250-C20 powered) helicopter. I have almost 20 years of Bell, Sikorsky, and MD experience and was wondering if any of you fellow wrenchers have worked on them and have any tips,general info, or heads up things to be looking out for? My first impression is that it is very different in general layout from what I am used to and while access to the engine is good, access to the main rotor gearbox and its belt drive leaves a lot to be desired. Thanks in advance.

Greetings from the bayous of Louisiana from a newbie to this forum. Recently a local police department here took delivery of a brand new Enstrom 480B (RR 250-C20 powered) helicopter. I have almost 20 years of Bell, Sikorsky, and MD experience and was wondering if any of you fellow wrenchers have worked on them and have any tips,general info, or heads up things to be looking out for? My first impression is that it is very different in general layout from what I am used to and while access to the engine is good, access to the main rotor gearbox and its belt drive leaves a lot to be desired. Thanks in advance.