Notice: Effective July 1, 2024, Vertical Forums will be officially shut down. As a result, all forum activity will be permanently removed. We understand that this news may come as a disappointment, but we would like to thank everyone for being a part of our community for so many years.

If you are interested in taking over this Forum, please contact us prior to July 1.

Heli Pilot School........ Which Airframe Is The Best?

shetechnic

I was wondering how this pilot training works........do I get to pick which airframe I learn on.......or i learn on a small one and then take specified pilot training courses for different airframes??

Now Im getting excitedddddd!

Also, I am a journeyman helo tech on the B412......should I get my civilian license .....is it beneficial to be an AME/pilot??

thanks for any input

I was wondering how this pilot training works........do I get to pick which airframe I learn on.......or i learn on a small one and then take specified pilot training courses for different airframes??

Now Im getting excitedddddd!

Also, I am a journeyman helo tech on the B412......should I get my civilian license .....is it beneficial to be an AME/pilot??

thanks for any input

You're going to find it a different world on the civilian side. I know many ex-military AME's that have worked out real well but I have also had to deal with several that had quite a bit of difficulty making the transition. My recommendation is to get competent with one discipline before tackling another. I realize there are exceptions to everything but my experience is there are very few pilot/AME's who do both jobs the way they need to be done, invariably the maintenance begins to slide - awful tough to pull an all-nighter after being on duty all day. Let me revise my recommendation, pick one discipline and excel at it, how would you rather be viewed - good at one job or mediocre at two?