Notice: Effective July 1, 2024, Vertical Forums will be officially shut down. As a result, all forum activity will be permanently removed. We understand that this news may come as a disappointment, but we would like to thank everyone for being a part of our community for so many years.

If you are interested in taking over this Forum, please contact us prior to July 1.

As350 B2 Vemd Problems

logon

we are having problems with our VEMD giving false over limit indications. Gong is going off numerous times before screen indicates overlimit in either NG or NR. Does anyone have a solution to this problem?

Oh boy, this is a can of worms. I'm just a pilot wink.gif and can't explain it properly, but something about the VEMD taking analog signals from the a/c systems (eg: NR counter) and turning it into a digital signal for the VEMD may be at the root of your problem. We have a B2 that used to give multiple FLI error messages in flight that you could 'ignore' by pressing 'reset' on the VEMD. Then we had a more serious hiccup when, similar to your problem, the VEMD gave a false NR overlimit. The pilot was coming in with a sling load and the gong went and after the initial pucker he realized it was a glitch. Upon landing the recorded overlimit was something like 475 rpm on the NR. Obviously this did not happen and it was a false alarm. I believe the wise ones looked into the actual NR counter and unfortunately I can't remember if they actually found anything wrong with it. That a/c has since moved on so I can't tell you for sure if that false NR overlimit was due to the analog/digital interface problem, the NR counting mechanism, or both.

I can see all you wrenches that know better rolling your eyes at this muddled post, but that's what I recall. Don't know if this helps you or makes you scratch your head even more, so take it with a grain of salt...the beauty of the internet!

C