Notice: Effective July 1, 2024, Vertical Forums will be officially shut down. As a result, all forum activity will be permanently removed. We understand that this news may come as a disappointment, but we would like to thank everyone for being a part of our community for so many years.

If you are interested in taking over this Forum, please contact us prior to July 1.

Implications?

Fin

As a pilot, I''m aware that there are a few elementry tasks that I''m allowed to perfrom on a helicopter.

What happens if I step outside these bounds? Lets say I change out a transponder or fiddle with flight controls. Now I know this is really stupid, but lets say I had the type of personality that led me to believe these actions were ok, and that these stupid rules are made by stupid people and they don''t apply to me. How much trouble can I get in?

What if I get caught leaving a tire pump in the broom closet? Nothing bad happens, this time.

However, there is always a next time and when there is, the result is a crash. Would it, or would it not be, a good idea to prosicute me? And does legislation even allow for this?

The problem is even worse if I still don''t see anything wrong, right? What about next time?

• Replies 20
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Interesting question, I assume you're posing it as a hypothetically - at least I hope you are.

Of course there are regulations governing this - CARS are full of them, as well they should be. You also expose yourself to civil and criminal liabilities outside CARS if something goes pear-shaped.

Your analogy of the transponder vs. flight controls is interesting. Basically the same as asking "is stealing a car more against the law than stealing a gas barbeque?"

"...these stupid rules are made by stupid people and they don't apply to me"