Notice: Effective July 1, 2024, Vertical Forums will be officially shut down. As a result, all forum activity will be permanently removed. We understand that this news may come as a disappointment, but we would like to thank everyone for being a part of our community for so many years.

If you are interested in taking over this Forum, please contact us prior to July 1.

Dick's Service

Hello all,

I am posting to get some info on Mr Wood's memorial service. Dick taught me how to fly, I wanted to attend his service but was unable because of USFS contract issues that did not allow for an easy replacement pilot. There will be no sunshine in my cockpit for a very, very long time since he has left us! Mr Wood was an amazing training pilot and I wanted to share one very important lesson he taught me.

I had been training with Dick for a couple of months and was feeling pretty darn good about how things were going, I asked Dick how I measured up against the other students (thinking of course that I was quite advanced) His answer is with me every time I lift off to this day...

After a considerable pause He said, You know what, you're so very far behind this aircraft that you won't be hurt when you crash!

Hubris Or Egos have no place in the cockpit.

After that I considerd a career selling Ice cream from a Dickie-Dee bicycle cart a logical next step But Dick convinced Me to persevere and every time I lift off, I owe him an unpayable debt to this day.

Jiggler

The Abbotsford Flying Club was packed to overflowing.

Speeches were given by his daughter Laura (who did a great job holding her composure). Rocky too gave a speech. Live music was played by his old friends, favorites that Dick always requested they play. Then a picture power point presentation with wonderful memories was presented. The service ended and people moved to the lounge to reminisce.