Notice: Effective July 1, 2024, Vertical Forums will be officially shut down. As a result, all forum activity will be permanently removed. We understand that this news may come as a disappointment, but we would like to thank everyone for being a part of our community for so many years.

If you are interested in taking over this Forum, please contact us prior to July 1.

Trying To Get To Canada

just1more

I am a Sgt in the British Army. I have been an aircraft technician for the past 7 years, working on Lynx Mk07, Mk09 and Gazelle helicopters. I am looking at getting my Canadian Aircraft Maintenance Engineer Licence, but am unsure of how to go about it. Also to see if my time on Aircraft counts towards these licences.

If any one has any information about the qualifications, or even some other places to look I would be very grateful.

cheers dave

I am a Sgt in the British Army. I have been an aircraft technician for the past 7 years, working on Lynx Mk07, Mk09 and Gazelle helicopters. I am looking at getting my Canadian Aircraft Maintenance Engineer Licence, but am unsure of how to go about it. Also to see if my time on Aircraft counts towards these licences.

If any one has any information about the qualifications, or even some other places to look I would be very grateful.

cheers dave

Check out http://www.tc.gc.ca/air/menu.htm (Their equivalent to the CAA)

Pretty helpful with any questions you have (I was trying to get my UK JAA stuff converted earlier this year).

As for your time on Aircraft you'd have to get clarification from them but they were prepared to count my time on G- Aircraft (All be it Civil so might be different for Millitary stuff).

If you've any more questions feel free to ask.

I am looking at getting my Canadian Aircraft Maintenance Engineer Licence,