Notice: Effective July 1, 2024, Vertical Forums will be officially shut down. As a result, all forum activity will be permanently removed. We understand that this news may come as a disappointment, but we would like to thank everyone for being a part of our community for so many years.

If you are interested in taking over this Forum, please contact us prior to July 1.

Help! Aviation Weather, Radio Work, Ground Speed Checks/etas

slyjive

Hey everybody, I'm a 25 hour pilot looking for help with a couple things:

Radio work:

I am finding it difficult to visualize where all the traffic is when I am getting advisories from the tower. It is starting to worry me. I don't know if there are any tip or tricks that anybody has to help me out with it. I feel that it would be very unsafe doing solo nav trips without being really confident knowing what the traffic is and where it is in relation to me. I'll be starting NAV trips as soon as I get off Christmas break, so I want to prepare myself as much as possible.

Aviation weather:

Does anybody know of a good book for learning aviation weather? I have Air Command Weather Manual, but it's really hard to follow, plus it's around 40 years old. I would like something in more readable language that covers all the topics required for the TC exam. Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Ground speed checks:

Frustrated am I trying to get good at ground speed checks in my head. I am wondering if there are any ways that anybody could suggest for me to study during the holidays to get better at them. As everybody probably knows: I need to start a timer at a mark on my map and stop it at another mark so I know the distance, then take that time and figure out my ground speed/ETA. If anybody has any help, I would greatly appreciate it!

So that's all. I am just looking for little tips and tricks that people have found helpful in their training. Thanks very much!

Get yourself a copy of "From the ground up".