Notice: Effective July 1, 2024, Vertical Forums will be officially shut down. As a result, all forum activity will be permanently removed. We understand that this news may come as a disappointment, but we would like to thank everyone for being a part of our community for so many years.

If you are interested in taking over this Forum, please contact us prior to July 1.

The state of the industry for new hires?

Shea_G

I’m contemplating switching careers and was hoping to get some inside information from those in the industry. I’m currently a professional land surveyor in training (33 years old) a few months away from getting my professional accreditation but find myself not loving what I do (low compensation and more office work as career progresses). The surveying industry has a serious issue lately (last 15 years) with underpaying (avg $35/hr with a degree and 15 years experience vs working with labourers getting $45/hr+).

My question is what is it like for one getting into the commercial rotary wing industry right now? What are typical wages for someone 5-10 years in? Are there a lot of job openings or is it very hit and miss? Rotary wing vs fixed wing? What does the future look like for industry?

I’ve been hesitant to commit 100k for training in the past because I was told the competition for jobs was fierce, I was thinking with the labour shortage going on right now in other industries, this may be a good time to get it as it may be easier to find a job and start building hours?

• Like 1

In the 5-10 year range into the industry, I'd say that fixed-wing is the better bet these days.

It's nothing now for it to take 5 years in the helicopter industry to hit your first 1000hrs... with a few exceptions out there. 1-2 years ground crew, then another 3-4 trying to hit a 1000hrs. Even at a 1000hrs, you are of limited use. It's a long slow grind.